Franz Josef Haydn

Symphony No. 22 in E-flat major “The Philosopher” Hob. I/22
Symphony No. 49 in F minor “The Passion” Hob. I/49

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sinfonia concertante in E-flat major for Violin, Viola and Orchestra, K. 364/320D
Divertimento in D major, K.136/125a

Featured  ARTISTS

Antoine Plante, Conductor

Jonathan Godfrey, Violin
James Dunham, Viola


1 hr 45 min, with intermission


7:15pm, in Stude Concert Hall

It’s been called one of the five symphonies that changed music forever

The eminent conductor Sir Mark Philip Elder calls Haydn’s Symphony No. 22 one of the five symphonies that changed music forever. Two remarkable Haydn symphonies are paired with Mozart’s equally impressive Sinfonia concertante. You won’t want to miss this one – featuring James Dunham, violist of the Grammy-winning Cleveland Quartet, who joins Mercury’s concertmaster for a performance that features Mercury fully in its element.

This concert is made possible in part the Houston Endowment and the City of Houston through Houston Arts Alliance.

[Haydn’s 22nd Symphony is] one of those pieces in which you feel the symphony as genre expanding into a forum for the expression of a composer’s most profound thoughts.
Sir Mark Elder



Violin I

Jonathan Godfrey, Concertmaster

Kana Kimura
Joanna Becker
Augusta McKay Lodge*

Violin II

Oleg Sulyga
Andrés González
Maria Lin
Hannah Watson


*Juilliard Fellow

Oboe/English Horn

John Abberger
David Dickey



Stephanie Corwin



Todd Williams
James Wilson


James Dunham
Yvonne Smith
Matthew Carrington



Courtenay Vandiver Pereira
Keiran Campbell*



Deborah Dunham