johann sebastian bach

Toccata and Fugue in D minor for Solo Violin, BWV 565

Passacaglia in C minor for Strings, BWV 582

Felix Mendelssohn

Octet in E-flat major for Strings, Op. 20


Approx. 1 hr, with no intermission


Experience the dramatic side of Bach

Bach’s darkly dramatic side shines in this concert – featuring his most famous work, his Toccata and Fugue, here performed by solo violin for a new, fascinating take on this favorite.  The Passacaglia, arranged for Strings, complements this perfectly – along with a lovely, expressive and unabashedly warm Octet by Mendelssohn – a composer who championed Bach in his lifetime. Experience them all in four unique, intimate venues across Houston.


The Neighborhood Series is sponsored by Phillips 66 and made possible also in part by the Houston Endowment and the City of Houston through Houston Arts Alliance.




Violin I

Jonathan Godfrey, Concertmaster
Kana Kimura


Violin II

Oleg Sulyga
Andrés González


Yvonne Smith
Matthew Carrington



Courtenay Vandiver Pereira
Julia Sengupta





Choose a different Neighborhood for this concert

Museum District    |  Midtown    |   The Woodlands

You Might Also Like

2017-2018 SEASON